This handbook is an update of the 2001 Montana Public Library Trustee Handbook, published by Montana State Library.

Montana State Library is grateful to the members of the 2001 Trustee Handbook Review Committee for donating their time and expertise during preparation of the original handbook. These members include:

Joan Bishop, Trustee, Lewis and Clark Library, Helena

Steve Gannon, Former Trustee, Chouteau County Library

Eleanor Gray, Former Trustee, Miles City Public Library

Elizabeth Kearney, Former Director, West Yellowstone Public Library

Gloria Langstaff, Director, Bitterroot Public Library, Hamilton

Sheila Lee, Director, Sheridan County Library, Plentywood

Steve Owens, Trustee, William K. Kohrs Memorial Library, Deer Lodge

Montana State Library also thanks:

Idaho State Library for allowing Montana to borrow freely from the Idaho Library Trustee Manual (1996)

State Library of Iowa for allowing Montana to borrow freely from the Iowa Library Trustee's Handbook 1998

New York's Mid-Hudson Library System, New Hampshire's Newport Regional Library and the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction for permission to reproduce their director evaluation forms

Maryland, South Carolina, Illinois, Minnesota and others for sharing information from their trustee manuals

Cain Consulting Group for allowing Montana to adapt material from The Board Team Handbook: A Complete Guide to Boardsmanship Basics for the Board Team of the 90's

Debra Wilcox Johnson, Johnson & Johnson Consulting, Waunakee, Wis., for permission to draw from her materials.

This handbook was prepared as an educational resource and should not be used as a substitute for legal advice. The publication was funded in part with federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant funds. These funds are administered through the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Montana State Library Commission.